Jan 11, 2011

The Comedy Awards This April

According to The Hollywood Reporter, Viacom has a huge television event planned to honor the genre of comedy. Simultaneously playing across Comedy Central, Spike TV, TV Land, VH1 and Nick At Nite on Sunday, April 10, will be a two-hour award show titled The Comedy Awards. This is not the first Comedy Award Show done in a similar fashion to the Grammies or Oscars, but is something of a resurrection of the ABC Network's 14 year spanning American Comedy Awards that came to a halt in 2001. The Comedy Awards will represent the year's best comedy actors, films, TV series, stand-up and digital content, as deemed by a panel of comedy specialists. So far, named on this panel are James Burrows, Billy Crystal, Will Ferrell, Whoopi Goldberg, Brad Grey, Seth MacFarlane, Adam McKay, Jimmy Miller, Jay Roach, Ray Romano, Rory Rosegarten and Phil Rosenthal.

Just spit-balling, but I'm guessing these awards or nominations to show a lot of love for Community, The Daily Show, Tosh.0, Jon Stewart, Steve Carell, Joel McHale, Family Guy, Zach Galifianakis, and hopefully: Michael Cera, Kevin Smith, Bill Burr, Conan O'Brien, and Andy Samburg.

No comments:

Post a Comment