Oct 31, 2011

AWOLNATION's "Megalithic Symphony" Review

Album: Megalithic Symphony
Release Date: March 29, 2011
Tracks: 14
Runtime: 52:44 minutes

Track Rundown:
(All ratings out of 5 *'s)

1) "Megalithic Symphony" - An really cool intro-song. I don't rate intro-songs, cuz no one is going out of their way to play them back, but as far as intros go, this one is excellent.

2) "Some Sort of Creature" - A sketch, or a soundbite, whatever you want to call it. Pretty weird and not worth rating since no one is going to go back and make and effort to listen to it.

3) "Soul Wars" - Fun, upbeat, peppy, but missing the "it factor". I think what this song needed was more of a point or message rather than being just a dance song to play at clubs. Still, 4 *'s.

4) "People" - Strikes a chord with me like an electro-version of Baba O'Riley. Great lyrics, great beat, great matching tone. Someone needs to make a high budget music video set to this song, because it evokes a lot of visuals in my mind. 5 *'s.

5) "Jump on My Shoulders" - A well-produced song, but comes off as really silly. I don't think it's meant to, or that it should for the effect it has on the flow of the album. A generous 3 *'s.

6) "Burn It Down" - One of the singles on this album but not one of my favorites. It's got the "It Factor" but it just doesn't connect with me. I think it might be the lyrics and lack of focus. 4 *'s.

7) "Guilty Filthy Soul" - An alright song. Nothing special to me. I like the chorus but everything else falls flat, and the entire production of the vocals comes off as a little too "recorded inside a fish bowl" sound. 2 1/2 *'s.

8) "Kill Your Heroes" - As soon as I saw the title of this track I had high expectations, and for the most part, this track lived up to them. I was looking for something bit more gritty and somber, like "Sail", but this was still a pretty decent song. 4 1/2 *'s.

9) "My Nightmare's Dream" - Soundbite. No rating. Pales in comparison to the intro though.

10) "Sail" - Yes. This was the track that caused me to get the album. So good that everyone should hear it. I love the music, the lyrics, the vocals, the message, it's all good. 5 *'s.

11) "Wake Up" - A decent song. The tone and beat really make the song, as the lyrics and vocals don't do this track any favors. A run of the mill, easily skippable 3 *'s.

12) "Not Your Fault" - Just the opposite of "Wake Up", "Not Your Fault" is driven by it's lyrics and vocal work but the music is really misguided or missing it's mark all together. Unfortunately, while a great beat can salvage a poorly sung song, the opposite is much harder to pull off. 2 *'s.

13) "All I Need" - A great song with a Billy Joel vibe. It's slow, melodic, and has great lyrics giving a great message. 5*'s.

14) "Knights of Shame" - I'm not sure why AWOLNATION made this one song fifteen minutes long, as it could have easily been broken up into different songs given it's lack of chorus and frequent change of tone. This could have even been used to replace the soundbites if it were multiple tracks. All of those tracks would have even been stand-alone awesome. So this track, albeit long, is a definite 5* track for me.

My Highlights:
"People", "Sail", "All I Need", and the excessively long but still awesome "Knights of Shame".

Overall Rating:
Averaging all of these tracks together, this album gets 4 *'s out of 5, but given how many hits this album has, I'm going to add just a small 1/4 * big-picture brownie-point-addition to it, to make the final score 4 1/4 *'s out of 5, or 8 1/2 *'s out of 10. A great album that everyone should give a chance, but hopefully will be viewed by AWOLNATION as good practice, as there was still some let downs about this album.

image from Amazon

No comments:

Post a Comment